What is the Penalty for Driving without Registration (39:3-4) in New Jersey?

2022-04-25 08:32:10 - Traffic Court

Driving without your driver’s license or vehicle registration is a serious motor vehicle offense in the State of New Jersey. The law considers driving a privilege and not a right, and requires people to have a valid driver’s license for the state they reside in. If you are found driving without a license, and if you receive a ticket for driving with no registration, then pursuant to the New Jersey traffic code, you may face penalties determined by various circumstances such as your level or number of violations previously, the reason for driving, any relevant considerations into difficulties obtaining a license, as well as whether the driver has a valid driver’s license in any other state or country.

Traffic-Ticket
Traffic-Ticket

Driving without your license can occur for a few reasons, each with a specific set of consequences and penalties.

Failing to have your License on Your Person or an Expired License

Cases such as loss of wallet, forgetting your license at home or failing to renew in time fall under genuine oversights. This rarely turns into a meaningful conviction if you take the necessary steps to prove yourself as charges for this scenario can be dismissed by the court, though you may be assessed court costs. 

You did not Possess a Valid License (39:3-10, 39:3-10a, 39:3-10b)

It is possible to face fines up to $500 or up to 60 days in jail if you do not have a valid New Jersey driver’s license and are caught driving. Furthermore, you may lose your ability to obtain a driver’s license for up to 180 days after the offense and may incur 4 points on your driving record.

Driving Without a Commercial Driver’s License

Commercial driving licenses are required for truck drivers, haulage drivers, and other professional drivers. Besides submitting a medical report, commercial drivers must possess a Class D license, have 20/40 vision in both eyes, and be physically fit. Drivers possessing CDL/CPL licenses are held to higher standards, and violating license laws will result in harsher sanctions. The suspension of a driver’s license usually lasts 60 to 120 days, but it quickly gets worse. Two or more violations may result in your license being revoked and a permanent driving ban. 

Your License has been Revoked, Suspended, or Restricted (39:3-40), aka Driving while Suspended

Driving with a license that has been restricted, suspended, or revoked is a traffic violation with the some of the most severe circumstances. For starters, on a second offense, you will face 1 to 5 days in jail. On a second offense, 5 to 10 days, and so on until fourth offense. If convicted of this affects after being convicted of driving while under the influence, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4–50, you may face up to 180 days in County Jail, added periods of suspension, and hefty fines. In most cases, Mr Moldovan, a former prosecutor has and will be able to help you avoid these hefty fines, jail time and further suspensions. Please call for a consultation regarding your driving while suspended offense.

What Are Your Options after these Types of Offenses?

The burden of proof is on the state prosecution if you contest a traffic penalty in court. Despite this, the burden of proof typically isn’t all that high or difficult to meet. It’s therefore imperative to have a strong defense in place. Although John Moldovan, a former prosecutor, and his team, regularly have cases overturned and reopened, a successful plea deal usually consists of one of the following elements:Possessing a license issued by another state.

  • Driver may be under the impression that a license from another country is valid here in the states, and does not have a New Jersey driver’s license.
  • The driver is using an expired license because the DMV was unable to provide a reasonable appointment.
  • The driver was driving while suspended because he was not properly noticed of the impending suspension.
  • The driver was driving without registration because he was sold a vehicle with an invalid registration.
  • The driver vehicle was sold where is no longer in his or her possession.
  • The drivers under age but he’s turning of legal age soon and has an appointment with the DMV to obtain a license.
  • The citation was issued via mail, or not at the scene of the alleged incident, and the driver doesn’t fact have a valid license.
  • Reasons such as an emergency or essential travel are considered  among other factors when in negotiations for a plea deal.

How Can a New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyer Help You?

If you’ve been charged with any of these offenses, contact our legal team at the MOLDOVAN LAW FIRM for a free confidential consultation with an experienced attorney. As a former prosecutor, Mr. MOLDOVAN has extensive experience in this practice. Call or text us at any of our published phone numbers to find out how we can help you. for immediate assistance dial 551–430–5800, or 866-553-4251 or you can email us at info@moldovanlegal.com.